top of page

Uncovering the Mystery: Who is my Husband?

Updated: Apr 13

A Decade of Unwavering Love: A Journey Through Trauma and Healing

Ten years ago, a chance encounter sparked a love story that would defy the odds. It was a time when I was grappling with the aftermath of a life-altering event - a traumatic brain injury sustained during my service in the army. This injury had left me medically disabled, forever altering the course of my life. Yet, it was during this challenging period that I met my future wife, a beacon of hope amidst the storm.

From the moment we met, she saw past my injury, accepting and loving me for who I was. Over the past decade, she has stood by my side, weathering the ups and downs that come with living with a traumatic brain injury (TBI). She has known me only in this state, her love never wavering despite the challenges.




Now, a new chapter is about to unfold in our lives. I am scheduled to attend UCLA’s #OperationMend, a program designed to provide comprehensive treatment, therapy, and advice for individuals dealing with TBI. This opportunity brings with it a glimmer of hope, a chance for improvement, and perhaps, a path to reclaim some of what was lost.

However, this upcoming journey is not without its apprehensions. Recently, my wife voiced a concern that tugged at my heartstrings. She asked, “What if you become someone I don’t know?” It’s a valid fear, stemming from the uncertainty of how the therapy might alter my personality or behavior.

Yet, I believe our decade-long journey has prepared us for this moment. Our relationship has been built on a foundation of unconditional love and acceptance, qualities that will guide us through this new phase. We understand that change can be daunting, but it is also a part of life and growth.

As we stand on the precipice of this new journey, we hold onto our unwavering faith in each other. We are ready to face whatever comes our way, knowing that our bond can weather any storm. After all, true love isn’t about finding the perfect person, but about loving an imperfect person perfectly.

In the end, no matter what changes #OperationMend might bring, one thing will remain constant - our love for each other. And in that love, we find our strength, our courage, and our hope for a better tomorrow.



3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page